Skip to content

Praying for Wisdom

May 29, 2017

Sermon of the Day:

(Deeper Listening) Piper: The Supremacy of God in Prayer

(Lighter Listening) Macdonald: Promise #4 God is Always Watching – A


 

2 Chronicles 1:10-12 NIV

10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

11 God said to Solomon, “Since this is your heart’s desire and you have not asked for wealth, possessions or honor, nor for the death of your enemies, and since you have not asked for a long life but for wisdom and knowledge to govern my people over whom I have made you king,12 therefore wisdom and knowledge will be given you. And I will also give you wealth, possessions and honor, such as no king who was before you ever had and none after you will have.”

Good Morning men. God’s mercy is new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23).

This week I wanted to share a passage of scripture that has always been dear to my heart.

Solomon is the son of David and has become the new king over Israel and over God’s people. There is so much we could draw out of this transitional time of kingship, however I would really like to focus on the request made by Solomon.

This request has always blown me away. I have always been so intrigued by the heart and character of Solomon when he became king. It really takes a pure and humble heart to be made king over a powerful nation and then ask God for help.

As we see in the verse above, God was also pleased with this request and answered in abundance. Although this was an amazing request that most people would not have sought after, I do believe there is still more we could learn from this.

Unfortunately for Solomon his heart and mind did not remain steadfast to the Lord. In fact Solomon was a very big contributor to the spiritual and physical divide of the great nation of Israel. God truly did bless him with wisdom, honor, fame and wealth which led Solomon to break several of the laws God set in place for kings of Israel.

So how does this happen?

Solomon requested wisdom, however he greatly lacked spiritual discernment. This led to great success in the world, but a decline in his relationship with God. Also as king, responsible for the nation, it led to the start of a dramatic decline of the people’s relationship with God.

On the surface all of us are pretty aware that the more comfort, wealth and success someone has the easier it is to become distracted. Unfortunately in today’s society you can still be broke and struggling with many distractions. Either way, distraction will lead to less time spent with God. This will lead to us worshiping other things. Spiritual decline is sure to follow. The worst part is, this never happens overnight. It’s not like you wake up and say: “Wow, yesterday I sure didn’t think or spend anytime with God. I better get on track.” Spiritual decline is so subtle, it is a slow fade. Usually we do not notice until everything falls apart. The follower of Christ is given many examples all through scripture on how to guard against this.

So what can we learn from Solomon?

For Solomon to have this intimate encounter with God is so amazing, because God didn’t do this in that day. God spoke through the prophets in Solomon’s day, and God speaks through His Word today. However I really wanted to know how I would have answered that question from God, the question was in verse 7: “Ask! What shall I give you?”

I spent some time thinking about this, and I really tried to be honest with myself. Learning from Solomon’s life I have compiled a request into the form of a prayer using several verses from God’s Word. I would like to share it with you in hopes you will make it a part of your life. My prayer and hope is that you would also desire this type of life, this type of fruit and know that if you believe this and pray this faithfully  I believe with all my heart that God will absolutely answer every single word.

Father help me to trust You with all my heart, to lean not on my own understanding. Father help me to acknowledge You in all my ways and please, direct my paths. Help me not to be wise in my own eyes, but help me to fear You and depart from evil. Teach me how to honor You with my possessions and the first fruits of all my increase. Father equip me with the full armor of God, and teach me to stand against evil. Father teach me to not walk in the counsel of the ungodly, or stand in the path of sinners, or sit in the seat of the scornful. Help me to delight in Your law and meditate on it day and night. Father that I may be like a tree, planted by the rivers of water with fruit in it’s season, and leaves that do not wither, and whatever I do I will prosper. Father help me to seek You first, to seek righteousness so that all things will be given to me. Father lastly teach me to be a follower of Your Son Jesus, teach me to deny myself and to take up my cross daily and follow You. In Jesus name, Amen.

May the Lord give all of us this heart as it aligns with His Word to be prosperous in every area of our lives for His names sake.

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

