Skip to content

Who Is Your Counsel?

May 15, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Boasting Only in the Cross


 

Psalm 16:1-8

Keep me safe, my God,
    for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
    “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
    I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
    or take up their names on my lips.

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
    even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Good Morning Men.

For those of you that listened to the sermon last week ‘The Path to Full and Lasting Pleasure’, you may recognize some of this.

This sermon blew me away. I would like to attempt to pull out some of the amazing points Pastor John made in that sermon. My hope and prayer is that you will be richly blessed and blown away also.

This Psalm starts as a plea, or a prayer to God. The highlight for me was when Pastor John broke down verse 7, however they are all connected. There are four main points that David, the Psalmist illustrates here.

God is his refuge, his treasure, his sovereign God and counselor.

Men I am not sure about you guys but I desperately need counsel. I have been searching for good counsel since I gave my life to Christ. I know how shallow, empty and selfish my decisions and actions can be without it.

Praise God He is our mighty counselor, and we have direct access to Him if we so choose.

But my question has always been how do I draw more depth from my counsel? How do I seek it more, learn to appreciate it more? Hear it more clearly?

I’m very grateful I got some clarity from through this text.

“Trusting God as your counselor affects how you experience God as your refuge and as your treasure and as your sovereign.” Piper

Refuge – How does God become our refuge?

God becomes our refuge in how He counsels us. His Word is our counsel and light. This refuge is not automatic, we cannot ignore God, His Word, His commands and then in times of trouble expect great clear counsel. This counsel is interactive. The more time we spend seeking His counsel, spending time in His Word and in prayer the more He speaks to us. The more clearly we understand who He really is.

The other day a co-worker who goes to a church was expressing some of his difficulties to me and explaining some of his recent decisions. This individual told me that he made the decision because he hasn’t been treated fairly and he deserves to be treated better because of what he offers. He continued by saying that he is at peace with his decision because God wants us to be happy.

Unfortunately for this individual he was not seeing the complete picture. There is no counsel from God’s Word that says that, or would support his reasoning and logic behind that decision. His decision was based completely off of pride and emotions. Of course there is a lot more backdrop and context here, but the point is that his decisions did not counsel based off of God’s Word. His decisions were rooted in personal comfort and an unwillingness to look in the mirror. This man needed to be absolutely honest with his behavior and actions, line it up with scripture, and then seek God to help him change.

Treasure – Is God really our treasure?

Verse 2 and verse 4 illustrate the single-mindedness of David. God is His absolute treasure. Nothing is greater, nothing is more important than what He has in God. This treasure gets established when we treasure God for more than His character. This treasure becomes so abundant when God is treasured because of His teachings in His Word, His promises and His love. God’s counsel becomes so abundantly satisfying and beautiful.

Sovereign – Is God really sovereign over my life? Even over this junk that doesn’t seem to be getting better?

My answer is yes and yes! Pastor John taught that God is sovereign in two ways in our lives. At times God completely rescues us and alters our course to save us from destruction. Then at times God is Sovereign through His Word, or His teachings. We learn to make decisions based on the principles and commands of His inspired Word.

The other day God put something on my heart as I was reflecting on this piece.

Do you know why we don’t read the Bible? Whether you are a non-believer or a lip worshiping believer, or a lukewarm believer. It doesn’t matter, either way there are two reasons why we don’t read the Bible.

Number 1 is because we feel we do not need any counsel. This mindset holds to the idea that, “I can figure this out.”

This absolutely blew me away. It is so true. If this is you think about it. If you do not turn to the Bible for counsel, where do you turn?

Number 2 is because darkness avoids light.

When sin is present in our lives and for whatever reasons we don’t want to change, we are choosing to stay in darkness. God’s Word will cut and expose, it divides between soul and spirit, joints and marrow and judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart (Hebrews 4:12).

So my question for each of us is, who is our counsel?

Men there may have been some tough words for all of us in this message. My hope and prayer is that you will take this offense to God. Do not run from it. God longs so desperately for all of us to be saved and walking in His light.

Learn to trust Him. Learn to seek Him.

Jeremiah 29:13

And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

