Skip to content

Does God’s Word Need to Always Be Easy

March 20, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Thy Word I Have Treasured in My Heart

Deuteronomy 29:29

“The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but those things which are revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may do all the words of this law.”

Good Morning Men.

I hope and pray that all of you had a great week in the Lord last week. What I mean by that is if your life is anything like mine, it is filled with challenges. Highs and lows, however through the midst of it all you remain anchored in the Lord and His purpose and provision for your life.

I want to share a theme that has been on my heart and I have been meditating for a several days. It started from a John Piper sermon. For those of you that have downloaded the app, I encourage you to keep plugging in to this man. I know he will challenge each and every one of us to grow, and if you have an open heart you will walk away learning more about God every single time.

This sermon was titled ‘Why God Inspired Hard Texts‘. It really came at a great time for me personally. If I can be completely honest and transparent with all of you. I have been struggling in my devotion time with the Lord. I rather not bore you with my excuses, but lets use a verse to paraphrase my actions: The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak (Matt. 26:41).

Of course when the flesh is weak sin is present or knocking at the door. Reading through Joshua 7 and 8 recently I am reminded of how important it is to confess my sins. Not generally speaking, but being specific with God. He knows already, why do I feel like I need to sugar coat it. I am getting a little off topic here but I wanted to share a couple things on sin. First of all 1 Corinthians 11:31 scares me and I want to obey it. Secondly look at what Dr. McGee says:

“There can be no joy in your life; there can be no power in your life; there can be no victory in your life; until there is confession of sin.”

We must confess our sin, turn from our sin only then will we experience the joy of the Lord.

So I re-listened to this sermon and I took some notes. Pastor John is “meaty” (thanks for that description Chad) and my goal is to bring it down to our level and help us break this down into chew-able pieces.

Men, have you ever understood everything you read in the Bible?

I feel confident to boldly say every one of us would have to say no. So why does God make some passages difficult to understand? If we are being honest here, most of the Old Testament at first glance is way over the average readers head. Even going through the New Testament with a deeper study and approach reveals that there is radically so much more in every word and verse.

So lets get into these notes I took. Just as a disclaimer, this is really just a snap shot of what Pastor John so wonderfully illustrated and brought to life in his sermon. My goal is just to extract what I heard and hopefully bring it to life for each of us. My notes will be mostly paraphrasing many of the things he said. So please know that primarily these are John Pipers thoughts that I have paraphrased.

The text of the sermon was Romans 3:1-8.

Pastor John really brought to life verse 2. Here God Basically says that one of the highest privileges is to possess this book. This book is so much more than words, it is the oracles of God.

When you bump against a difficult text. Our minds may say why is this so hard? If its such a privilege? Especially if children are expected to read this (Matthew 18:2-4). If you have spent any decent amount of time trying to read God’s Word, I’m sure this has happened to you.

Pastor John asks a great question and gives us four answers.

So if God is a good communicator, and wants people to know Him, love Him and trust Him, then why is it so hard?

  1. God Unleashed Desperation – a sense of utter dependence on God’s help and enablement. 1 Corinthians 2:14 talks about the natural man. This is the man that does not have the Holy Spirit living inside of him, basically an unbelieving individual. However either way we have these same natural tendencies, we are fallen creatures born into sin. I am so fallen and so sinful and therefore desperately need God’s Holy Spirit to illuminate the Oracles of God for me.
  2. Supplication – When your feeling desperate, what do you do? Of course, we pray. Now look at how the Psalmist describes his desperation for the Word of God in these verses:

Psalm 119:18 NIV

Open my eyes that I may see
    wonderful things in your law.

Psalm 25:5 NIV

Guide me in your truth and teach me,
    for you are God my Savior,
    and my hope is in you all day long.

If everything was crystal clear in the Bible, clear enough for a 7 year old to read. Would we pray? Would we pray like the Psalmist?

3. Cogitation – don’t worry I never heard of this word either. But it is the action of thinking deeply about something.

So when God inspires a writer to write something difficult, He intends for us to use everything at our disposal. Including really thinking hard about something and trying to seek Him, seek Godly advice, and books and other resources for the answer. We are to think hard and ask questions.

Pastor John then talked about how there may be some confusion at this point for some. Is it prayer? Or is it deep thinking?

2 Timothy 2:7 clears that up for us a little bit. The Lord will grant you the understanding as you think through God’s language. Much like Proverbs 2 mentions, we must search for it as we would for hidden treasure.

4. Education – God’s Word brings this out of those who pursue God’s Word diligently through prayer and hard thinking. Check out 2 Timothy 2:2. God releases impulses for education, education comes from God!

I have known a few men personally that would claim to have read less books than they can count on one hand before knowing Christ. These same men have now become avid readers, hungering after God’s Word. If you have just heard Pastor John speak he is so eloquent and educated and I know that is directly related to his life long pursuit to know and understand God’s Word. The desire and fruit of education has sprung to life through a pursuit after God’s Word.

I hope this helps men.

Blessings and Love

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pausing to Learn from God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

