Skip to content

Patient in the Results

February 22, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Do Not Avenge Yourselves but Give Place to Wrath

Exodus 40:36-38

36 Whenever the cloud was taken up from above the tabernacle, the children of Israel would go onward in all their journeys. 37 But if the cloud was not taken up, then they did not journey till the day that it was taken up. 38 For the cloud of the Lord was above the tabernacle by day, and fire was over it by night, in the sight of all the house of Israel, throughout all their journeys.

191f69806d49ed215a2efc7276fe2d0e

Good Morning Men.

I want to try and merge a few things that have been on my heart, been going on my life, and what I have been reading in God’s Word.

Starting with the above verse, I read a commentary from Dr. J. Vernon McGee about Numbers 4. In this commentary Dr. J. described the three different families, of the Levite clan. These were the dedicated priests for the Israelites. They all had their jobs, and knew exactly how to do it and by the movement of the cloud or pillar of fire they would know when to do it.

As I was reading about how this all took place, my mind started wondering. I started to put myself there and easily saw myself getting negative. If I am real honest, I could see myself complaining like; “God we just did all this work setting up, and now we gotta move again!?” I could see the ignorant flesh that resides in me really trying to resist what God was doing.

For us today that cloud represents the Holy Spirit. For a born again believer in Jesus Christ we have put to death our old nature, our old self, our old ways. We are a new creation in Jesus Christ. Through this “New Birth” the Holy Spirit now resides in us. However this is not an overnight process. In fact this is a life long journey of learning to hear, listen (there is a difference), act and follow the nudging’s of the Holy Spirit.

Recently God impressed upon my heart about this type of prayer. Let me quote exactly from my notes:

‘ Praying before, during and through all things. Why? Because we are going to change God’s plans? No! Because by having this heart and mind we are acknowledging that HE stands over everything and we kneel right beneath all HIS decisions and judgement’s.’

So obviously by not having this heart and mind, there is no kneeling beneath the Almighty God. In fact we try to stand above Him and tell Him how to operate our world.

There are a few things going on in my personal life were I am really trying to learn this. To pray for the big and the small equally. With a complete trust and understanding of Who really is in control.

As I combined these thoughts with what I have been reading it reminded me how important this discipline is. Without this constant communication with God, without learning to trust Him above all, to seek Him above all, to set our minds on the things above. We will continue to feed a mind and a heart that revolves on the flesh rather than the Spirit.

My hope and prayer for all of you this morning is that if you desire more of God in your life, that you would whole-heartedly seek Him. Not for a day, not for a week, in fact with no set date. But learn to seek Him constantly through the big and the small, being patient in the results.

Grace and Peace to all of you.

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

