Skip to content

Be Prepared

February 15, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Willing God’s Will As a Way of Knowing Christ’s Word

1 Peter 3:15

15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts, and always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear…

morning-devotion

image copied: https://acoupleofcatholics.com/blog/2014/02/02/how-do-your-best-days-begin/

Good Morning Men.

The other night I was picking up some dinner for my family and I ran into an old friend, let just call this friend Paul. This young man nearly lost his life in a car accident. My partner and I were actually the first ones to arrive on the scene of this horrible accident where one of the occupants would later die.

The reason for this back story is to give an illustration of how much this young man has gone through and I know is still going through both physically, mentally and spiritually. Paul looked great, better than he ever has, and has made some significant gains and improvements in his mobility. However I do know a lot of it was a show. I was hurting for him and I was blown away at the life he now has to live. My heart was completely broken for this young man.

Paul and I did pray together but I left feeling guilty and I want to share two reasons why.

The first is for a bunch of reasons I won’t get into, Paul could really use some help getting around for the next few weeks to a month,. I wanted to offer help in the worst way, but I knew that I actually have too much on my plate right now to make a half-hearted offer. My heart was hurting here because of the lack of time I have to give to others. Which I know is temporary, because my wife and I are doing things to fix that, but in this setting it was a bummer. We are actively seeking the Lord’s Will in every aspect and decision constantly. My prayer is that we all would learn to live more with this type of desire for God’s will and purpose.

Secondly, my heart was burning to share the gospel with Paul. The problem was I didn’t know where to start, or where to go. The conversation did not lead to any real depth, most in part because things are on an upswing for Paul. So there was no outward sign of searching. But the burning in my heart was there.

I was reflecting on this all night and the next day and God impressed the above verse on my heart. Although the true interpretation is different, God gave me an application to this situation that stung. Plain and simple, I was not prepared. How hard would it have been to share a verse of encouragement with Paul? Or maybe a verse of God’s sovereignty and love.

Or maybe everything happened to according to God’s plan. Maybe, God is preparing me for the next encounter with Paul or someone else. I’m not sure men. But I will continue to seek out His purpose and spend time with the Lord to grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ so that the next time I am prepared.

How about you, are you prepared to share the reason for the hope that you have? Or maybe you need hope. Here is a simple recipe for every single one of us no matter where we are at:

Jeremiah 29:13

 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

