Skip to content

God at the Bottom of Our Joy

January 27, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Getting to the Bottom of Your Joy

Matthew 22:36-37

36 “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?”

37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and great commandment.

Beautiful English countryside landscape over rolling hills

Beautiful English countryside landscape over rolling hills

Good Morning Men. I hope and pray all of you are doing well in the Lord.

Men, what does the above verse look like in your life? Are we loving God that much? I want to share my experience in prayer the other morning.

The other morning I finished reading Matthew 16 and I started praying for God to increase my impact for Him. Just a real quick note on prayer, I am still learning how to pray better. Something I have been working on is having dialogue with God. Many times I come to God with my “list” of prayers. Rather than following many of the scriptures that talk about waiting on God, being still before God and so on. So this is still a work in progress for me, knowing that God wants a relationship with all of us, not just a monologue of our wants.

As I was praying for my walk and my impact for God, I really felt I was being genuine and loving towards God. The Holy Spirit revealed some sinful flaws in my heart. I felt God ask me, why do you want to impact souls? Of course my answer was, ‘for you God’. God repeated the question, why do you really want to increase your impact?

God’s Word is alive men. It truly is sharper than any two-edged sword, that judges between the thoughts and attitudes of the heart, discerning between soul and spirit, joints and marrow (Hebrews 4:12). Almost instantly my eyes were opened to my real desire. My feeling and my self-worth were tied to this impacting of souls. I wanted to feel good about myself. I wanted to feel good about my walk with Christ. I wanted to feel like I was on the right track in my relationship with God.

Maybe some of you are kinda like, well that sounds good man. Well I want to point out a small flaw that I am praying passionately for God to help me. I want lost souls to be at the bottom of this impact, not how I am going to feel while impacting souls. Can you see the difference? It seems small and subtle at first glance, but men, it really is a gigantic difference that if not corrected now will start to divide me from the word of God.

Honestly my prayers have greatly simplified. The last two sermons I sent have had tremendous, Godly timing. Simple, prayers, child like faith. John Piper said in the last sermon ‘Ask Whatever You Wish’; God cares about the big things and the small things. That hit home. My prayers have been looking like Peter as he was going under water before Jesus, ‘Lord, Save Me’!. Help me and save me Lord. Help me get my heart right. Save me from my selfish sinful ways. Help me to have you at the bottom of all my joy.

May the Lord truly bless all of you with a fire and a hunger for HIM!

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

