Skip to content

“Lord, Save Me!”

January 25, 2017

Sermon of the Day: Ask Whatever You Wish

Matthew 14:24-33

24 But the boat was now in the middle of the sea, tossed by the waves, for the wind was contrary.

25 Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea. 26 And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.

27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”

28 And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

29 So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. 30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32 And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.

33 Then those who were in the boat came and worshiped Him, saying, “Truly You are the Son of God.”

walking_on_water_jekel1

Good Morning Men!

This is a very popular story, very obvious reasons. There is tons of application that you can draw from an amazing miracle and passage like this. I would like to share how this impacted me the other day.

25-26: Jesus in the storm. Men, I know we all have our storms. They all look different and come in different times and seasons. I find comfort in knowing that what seems like a storm to me, is nothing for the Jesus Christ, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

28: Peter calls out to Jesus. This has been impacting me personally lately. I have been really desiring more of the Lord, really trying to cry out to Him and to seek Him like I never have in my life. Honestly, because I feel like I am sinking.

29: Peter steps out. I know that by calling out to the Lord there needs to come change in my heart, mind and life. Is that scary? Absolutely. But will it be worth it? Absolutely. Do you think Peter every looked back on this experience and regretted it? My guess is no. I want to live in that way, and my prayer is that all of you do also.

30: Peter begins to sink. What does this look like for you and me? Trials, tribulations, setbacks and challenges for starters. After our last sermon from Francis Chan, God has really ignited some things in my heart that I want to change. I feel like I have been slowly sinking in life. I feel like I have been trying to do many things in my own strength rather then surrendering to God and following Him. However just as Peter cried out here, I am doing the same. I’m just crying out for help. I’m crying out that God would save me from my own ways. Simple prayers, combined with a child like faith. Just getting back to the basics, Lord, help me please. A broken and contrite heart, is the only heart God can work with.

31: Peter is saved. Oh how faithful our Lord is. No matter how we fail or how we stumble. That hand will reach out and save us. That hand is the grace and mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Men, my hope and prayer is that we would get to this place spiritually, where Peter is sinking and knows he can do nothing on his own strength. When fear, doubt and worry becomes so great that all we can do is cry out; “Lord, save me!”

However lets not wait to be physically sinking. God wants all men to be saved. God passionately desires deeper intimacy with all of us. My prayer for this group is that we would just step out in faith, step out in the middle of your storms.

If you have not given your life to Christ, ask Him to come into your heart. He will save you. If your faith is struggling and lacking, start asking for God to build your faith. Start taking those steps you know you should. Those things that maybe God has already been tugging on your heart, but you hvae been ignoring them. God wants to help you trust in Him more and more each day.

 

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

