Skip to content

Dirty Temple

December 2, 2016

Sermon of the Day: All of Life as Worship

Hope you guys don’t mind a repeat sermon. I just thought this was amazing and pertinent for today. I am going to listen again because I know there is more I can get from it. I hope you do the same.

Ezekiel 8:6 NLT

“Son of man,” he said, “do you see what they are doing? Do you see the detestable sins the people of Israel are committing to drive me from my Temple? But come, and you will see even more detestable sins than these!”

d7e15fe175914d2a8fa8ceea58129a80

God was revealing to Ezekiel the wicked and sinful things that the spiritual leaders were doing in God’s holy temple. This was a wicked and perverse time for these people and God was coming to the end of His grace rope. Judgement was impending.

This chapter really spoke to me; look at what it says in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NIV:

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own;20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

So although we no longer have a sacred physical temple like they did during this time period in Ezekiel, the Bible teaches our bodies are the temple.

Much more personal, much more intimate and much more private. We now have the ability to put on a good front although things may be pretty dark and sinful inside.

Yesterday morning this came to a complete standstill for me. Men I am so hungry to grow in my relationship with the Lord,I feel like the Psalmist in Psalm 42. I really feel like I need the Lord more and more each day. The Lord stopped me dead in my tracks and brought up two issues I have right now in my heart.

Two relationship issues that I have just been stonewalling in my heart. I know I need to have unconditional love in these two relationships, but I am having a really hard time. The Lord clearly told me until I make these things right there is no way I am going to grow. I can’t, it just will not happen. It made total sense to me. I am still battling and wrestling men. I do not want to give in. My pride is fighting back and making up all kinds of excuses.

I just keep reminding myself that God is so much greater than holding on to this junk. I also keep reminding myself of pertinent scriptures that fight back against every excuse.

Men I have to choose to fight this. I have to overcome it or this is all for nothing. This is all a front, right? I do not want God to look into my heart as he looks into the temple in Ezekiel 8 and hate what He sees. Most importantly I am scared of what will happen if I don’t fix this. Especially since I know what I am supposed to do.

Let me share two of the main verses going through my head that are helping me fight this battle, maybe you can relate to this kind of struggle.

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

When I try to justify that I do not need to love a person because of x,y and z, God basically just says you’ll never go wrong by showing love. I just feel like God is telling me, you don’t think so? Try it! Let’s see who is right.

Isaiah 55:8-9

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

When I try to reason there is no point. This person can just stay there, I can stay here. We do need to talk because there is no point. It’s all good. This verse just reminds me of how limited my thoughts are. How the sovereign God of the universe is just telling me, you think you’re so smart and you got it all figured out but you don’t buddy. Just shut your mouth and obey my Word. Stop making excuses.

 

 

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

