Skip to content

Omniscient, Omnipresent and Completely Sovereign

November 8, 2016

Sermon of the Day: Christian Citizenship

 

Psalm 139 NIV

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
    and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

19 If only you, God, would slay the wicked!
    Away from me, you who are bloodthirsty!
20 They speak of you with evil intent;
    your adversaries misuse your name.
21 Do I not hate those who hate you, Lord,
    and abhor those who are in rebellion against you?
22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
    I count them my enemies.
23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.

18eb495f66afe07db4f19acd1c7e3708

Good Morning Men!

I read through this Psalm the other night, one of my favorites for sure. There were so many things I wanted to share, I could not decide so I just wanted to share the whole Psalm. Then hopefully pull some of the main things that speak to me.

How many of you feel alone sometimes? Maybe in the midst of a struggle, illness or setback? I sure we have all been there. I’m sure its safe to say many of us have even questioned, God are your really there?

That is where not only reading a promise of God, but actually have it anchored in your heart can be worth far more than gold!

Verses 1-6

This passage blows my mind. It fills me with such joy and peace to know that God is so a part of my every being it is mind-blowing. The creator of the universe created you and me. He knows our thoughts before we even have them.

This is one example of the how God is Omniscient. All-knowing God!

Verse 6 really sums it up how I feel. It blows me away, it is far to wonderful for me to grasp. To know in my heart that God loves and cares about me so much. Why should I worry or fear when things happen outside of my control?

Would you allow yourself to really believe this with all your heart? Then let it show by how you live?

Verses 7-12

Omnipresent. God is everywhere. God is outside of time, God is so great and  marvelous yet by His spirit He lives in the heart of believers. That fact alone is astonishing.

Verses 13-18

The Sovereignty of God. If I had to choose, this would have to be my favorite passage in this Psalm, but only if I had to choose.

Have any of you ever wondered if abortion is really okay? Of course most of us would believe it’s wrong in most cases. However what about some of those extreme cases, that maybe you have put yourself or someone you know and wondered what decision you would make. If there was any doubt v 13-14 may help clear up those thoughts. You can see clearly where God’s stance is on any situation in this arena. Especially if you factor in what we just talked about in the previous verses.

For you married men, have you ever had enough thoughts about your wife to out number the grains of sand? I honestly don’t think I have, and I love my wife and think about here all day. Especially because the psalmist doesn’t tell me which beach or desert. So I have to assume that would mean everything. That is quite a bit, wouldn’t you think?

Then to close it out with an amazing spiritual battle cry in v. 23-24. Men do you really want to grow in your walk with Jesus Christ? I can guarantee you on the authority of scripture if you pray these verses with all your heart God will answer. I learned these verses years ago, I still pray them often.

I always need God to search my heart, to try me, to make me aware of my wickedness, and then lead me in His ways! My prayer is that you will feel the same way.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

