Skip to content

Praise and Gratefulness, Part 2

October 28, 2016

Sermon of the Day: When Your Faith Fails

 

Colossians 3:15

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.

dove

Good Morning Men!

As you may already know this is Part 2 of our Praise and Gratefulness series. You may go here to read part 1.

Gratefulness.

Gratitude.

Those are just beautiful words that really seem to rest my soul.

Where does it come from?

Gratitude can only come when we view something far greater than ourselves and anything we could attain or achieve on our own strength and merit.

For us Christians that is God.

How many of us are so content in who God is in our lives that at the end of every pursuit, no matter the outcome you are able to give thanks?

The other day I sent out a sermon titled ‘The Enthronement of Desire’, the passage was about sexual purity.

However I wanted to apply what Pastor John taught not only to sexual purity in my life, but every area of my life.

Here is something he said in the sermon:

Gratitude is the opposite of covetousness because it enthrones God. Gratitude says that God is the satisfaction of all my longings. Covetousness says that God is not adequate as a satisfying treasure; I must have money or I must have sex – God will not suffice!

Piper

I have been taking a different approach to gratitude recently. I have been treating it like a skill that I want to learn, and I want to teach.

The more I read about God’s promises in His word the more I want to know Him. The more I realize how great God is, and how much I need Him. So with this as my foundation, knowing that at the end of the day, everything is through Him, for Him and from Him; I develop my skill.

One small exercise we are developing in our home is to instill hearts of gratitude every day with our two young children. My wife and I share what we are grateful for. We keep it simple and short, but we all takes turns. Then my young children share what they are grateful for. It has only been about a week. However, I see it stirring their minds and hearts. Which I believe is so powerful.

God has placed this heavy on my heart to learn to be more grateful in everything. I want to start living this and teaching my children this same thing. So they learn at a young age that God is the center and everything around Him, everything and everyone He brings into our lives or takes away is a blessing. Everything is a chance to give Him glory, honor and praise.

Take a stroll through the Psalms and see how grateful the Psalmist were. No matter how dark the Psalm may start they always find their way back to truth of God’s great love and mercy. With hearts of gratitude because they are grounded in who God is, they are able to Praise Him abundantly.

Men can we start learning that when we trust Him, when we are called and love Him, that all things will work together for good? Can we know, live, teach and believe that God is so much better than anything else we desire?

Lets learn to make God the satisfaction of all our longings.

Greater than success.
Greater than any amount of money.
Greater than sex.
Greater than status.

Men, God will suffice.

Find gratitude in Him and Praise of Him will flow. Our hearts will begin to change. How we see and treat people will also begin to change. Gratefulness in difficult relationships that will find a characteristic worthy of praise.

Start at home. Men praise your wife. Thank your wife for all she is, all she does. Men remember that God said when you find a wife you find a good thing. He never said that about us husbands. That alone should humble us to realize we have an amazing woman. That if we treat her the way she deserves, we have  a partner and sidekick for life. You think your kids need to see this kind of respect and love?

Love you guys. Sorry so long.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Mission Italia

The Joy of Kingdom Living in the Everyday

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

