Skip to content

How Can a Young Man Cleanse His Way?

August 16, 2016

Psalm 119:9-16

How can a young man cleanse his way?
By taking heed according to Your word.
10 With my whole heart I have sought You;
Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
11 Your word I have hidden in my heart,
That I might not sin against You.
12 Blessed are You, O Lord!
Teach me Your statutes.
13 With my lips I have declared
All the judgments of Your mouth.
14 I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies,
As much as in all riches.
15 I will meditate on Your precepts,
And contemplate Your ways.
16 I will delight myself in Your statutes;
I will not forget Your word.

maxresdefault

The Lord led me to this passage this morning as I was replying to some emails. I want to share some of the notes from my Bible in this passage. I want to extract 9 steps to answer the question in the first line. My hope and prayer is that all of us would analyze our hearts and minds and find areas to improve in, even if you think your doing good.

My Bible says, how can a young man cleanse his way?

Im not sure about you men, but I desperately want my way to be cleansed, pure and holy. I do not want any sin in my life. When I do slip and sin I want to make it right with God.

  1. Take heed. We must caution ourselves. We must understand the power and holiness of the Bible. This Bible is the inspired word of God, therefore to know God we must know the word of God.
  2. Seek the Lord with your whole heart. Can we honestly say we are seeking the Lord with our whole heart? If we cannot then something is in the way. If we want to cleanse our way, we must find out what is in the way and remove it.
  3. Do not let me wander from Your word. When we wander, drift and slowly slide way from His word it is a subtle nudge day by day. We will not notice the inch by inch drift. We will notice when its too late 5,10,20 years later when the bottom falls out. When your wife wants a divorce, you stumbled into an affair, your relationship with your kids is broken and so on.
  4. Hiding God’s word in our heart. Brothers its not only about reading the Bible, but memorizing it. Studying scripture with the intent to plant powerful verses in your heart. The Bible is not called the living word of God by accident. Its alive, and comes alive in your daily life when it is hidden and planted in your heart!
  5. Teach me. Are we teachable? Coach-able? Or do we get offended and turned off to easy. This is pride men, pride because of insecurities or sin. Lets allow God’s word to teach us and lead us out from the darkness we love to fall into.
  6. Judgement’s of His mouth and rejoicing in His way. Honoring and trusting the living word of God. Living a life of praise, gratitude, and committed to edifying others.
  7. Meditate on Gods ways. Think and communicate with God. As we continue to spend time in God’s word, lets recap, lets revisit, lets think about these things we are reading. Lets learn to start plugging them in to daily life. Make it real.
  8. Delighting in God’s commands. Men when we can understand that Gods word is a light to our feet and a lamp to our path we learn to delight in His divine guidance and direction.
  9. Not forgetting the Word. When we make these steps a part of our daily lives, when they become more than something you read about. When these steps become second nature to your thinking and your actions, the word of God becomes your life focus. Scripture promises when we live this way, everything we do will prosper.

May the Lord truly bless all of you with a deeper hunger and thirst for Him.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

