Skip to content

Is The Lord Really Your Shield?

August 9, 2016

Psalm 3:3-6

But You, O Lord, are a shield for me,
My glory and the One who lifts up my head.
I cried to the Lord with my voice,
And He heard me from His holy hill. Selah

I lay down and slept;
I awoke, for the Lord sustained me.
I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people
Who have set themselves against me all around. 

60372-Royalty-Free-RF-Clipart-Illustration-Of-A-3d-Blue-Guy-Surrounded-By-White-Men

Good Morning Men!

My deepest apologies, it has been six days since I sent an email to our ministry. I have poorly managed my devotion time and of course the email devotion took the hit. For those of you keeping me accountable I have been reading my bible daily, listening to a sermon daily and sending emails to men in our ministry almost daily. So thank you for those of you checking on me and keeping me accountable. We all need that.

Wow! What a passage we have here. The Holy Spirit really pressed on my heart here this morning as I read through this.

David is describing an intense situation here, physically, spiritually and emotionally.

Do we really trust in the Lord this way? Do we rally believe that God has our back in this way? Most importantly do we really cry out to the Lord in this way?

David says, tens of thousands of people have set themselves against him and are all around him. I believe he is speaking literally about his situation. Absalom his son turned against him, and turned the hearts of the people against him.

What does that look like for us today?

I feel for us today that looks like, losing your job. Marital problems that are near destruction. Children that have no desire to live for and know God. Broken families and marriages that pull on us physically, mentally, spiritually and financially. Bad reports from the doctor. Setbacks in our finances.

The list is endless right? It can look so different for all of us. However at the root of these problems what is our heart saying to God? Can we truly surrender to His will? Whether circumstances were totally out of our control. Or whether poor choices, or poor behaviors brought about a string of consequences. If our faith is real, if we desire to be set free from the bondage of sin we must pray and ask God for this heart and this type of trust.

Combined with prayer we need to be anchored in to the promises of God. In the Bible, God has spoken through divine inspiration through over 40 different authors, to give us hope. It is very difficult to anchor into these promises if we are not learning by spending time daily in His word.

Men my encouragement to you is to really make the changes you need to make in order to break free from whatever is dragging you down. Start small, make baby steps that start to get you back on track or stronger, in your walk with Christ, in your marriages and in your relationships. It takes time, so be patient; but be Consistent, Intentional and Disciplined.

May the Lord God of all creations give you a heart to know Him, praise Him and love Him so much more!

Sermon (short) of the day:

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

