Skip to content

Men of Our Word

August 3, 2016

Numbers 30:2

If a man makes a vow to the Lord, or swears an oath to bind himself by some agreement, he shall not break his word; he shall do according to all that proceeds out of his mouth.

76c2dcdb37a6a16af138999aaa10ccc6

Good Morning Men!

I came across this chapter today in my devotion and I was just floored. As my morning was starting, the thought of giving your word on something was so fresh in my heart and mind. God had placed this concept on my heart before I even read this chapter. In fact I was thinking over a situation when someone gave me their word on something and did not follow through. However in the same stroke I began to think of how many times I have failed in my word also.

The verse above was the foundation for this ministry that you and I are a part of through this email, I Challenge You. This verse was connected with an oath that I made, challenging me in every aspect of my life. As far as I know, only myself and two other men have taken this challenge and done this oath.

However this morning, after rereading the oath I took, which is framed on the wall in my dining room, I began to think of how important every word I speak is. Whether it is to my wife, my children, my co-workers or a stranger. Whether I give my word on a time frame or commitment, big or small.

Today the words many of us speak are so soft and meaningless! How disgusting. How often do we fail to follow through? How often do we fail to just ignore text messages, and emails and comments in conversions because we are afraid to back up our words? Because we know we do not keep our word.

Men! Lets change this. This must stop. How much do you hate that people do this to you? Lets not have the mindset, because everyone else does it, it is okay for me.

I also want to single out you men, that are in a long term relationship, especially if you have kids with your girlfriend and your not married. Men, take a stand. Commit and follow through and stand on your words. Stop thinking this is okay. The ripple effects you are causing you cannot see yet, but you will not be happy with the end result. For you married men, stop messing around. Turn from sexual immorality, turn from selfish pursuits and be solid men of God! Stand on those vows, no more divorce! No more unhappy wives.

Lets be men of our word. Lets be men filled with integrity. Men people can count one. Husbands and fathers that lead by example. I will be honest I am scared to even take this stand right now, because there is a lot of eyes reading this, and I cross paths with many of you often. But I am willing to put myself out there. So that you hold me accountable and you are willing to allow me the same in your life.

Forgive me if some of my words were strong today. Know that I love each and every one of you. I just want God’s best for you.

Start small men. But just start. Little decisions over a long period of time, have drastic results. Lets just make those results good and glorifying to the God who created us, and saved our souls!

Grace and Peace to you all.

 

Here is the second part of yesterdays sermon, I am excited to listen to this today!

Olympic Spirituality Part 2

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pausing to Learn from God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

