Skip to content

The Fear of the Lord

July 1, 2016

Psalm 111:10 – Psalm 112:1

10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom;
A good understanding have all those who do His commandments.
His praise endures forever

1 Praise the Lord!

Blessed is the man who fears the Lord,
Who delights greatly in His commandments.

fear-god

According to these scriptures, having the fear of the Lord has some true benefits, would you agree?

In both of these verses the fear of the Lord is directly tied to the commandments of God. God’s commandments are designed to be a mirror for us. When we seek God and we grow in our relationship with Him, what happens is more time spent in God’s Word, and more time spent working out the junk in our hearts, minds and lives. If I could put it simply.

For me personally to fear God is to place Him at the center of my life. At the center of every decision, of every action I want Him as the nucleus. I want my decisions to be based in Him and on Him and for obvious reasons, this verse says that brings wisdom, understanding and blessing.

The fear of the Lord says God, You are God not me. The fear of the Lord says I was created in Your image to worship and glorify You, not the other way around. The fear of the Lord says everything around me, everything I learn and see is so much greater than me; You are truly God and are so worthy of all of my praise, worship and service.

For some of us the fear of the Lord may even look like making the right or tough decision, although you know it will not be pleasing to those around you.

For example, over the last handful of years my wife and I have set some goals for our family. The problem was those goals involved me working two jobs and many hours per week. When I did have free time I needed to spend that limited time with my wife and kids. However when family events popped up over the years, whether gatherings or even a funeral that would have taken the only family time we had, or cause strain on my family. I chose to go against what pleases the crowd, and I chose to please my wife and my children.

In all honesty those choices have caused offense even to this day, but I chose God’s commandments over mans opinions. One of those commandments which says love your wives as Christ loves the church.

Men, God’s commandments are guard rails for our lives. The more we spend time in God’s Word, the more we learn them. The more we look in the mirror and be honest with ourselves the more we learn to apply God’s commandments correctly in our lives.

For those of you that are born again Christians, we have the Holy Spirit of God that lives in us, to guide us and be our counselor as the Bible refers it. We need His spirit like we need food and water.

Think about what the fear of the Lord looks like to you. Do you really fear Him?

Ask God to give you a heart of understanding to help you love Him and fear Him.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

