Skip to content

Mad Man

June 2, 2016

Luke 9:24-26

24 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will save it. 25 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost? 26 For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words, of him the Son of Man will be ashamed when He comes in His own glory, and in His Father’s, and of the holy angels.

464740491

Good Morning Men.

I am reading a book called To the Work! To the Work! by Dwight L. Moody. Mr. Moody said something in his book that I have been really thinking about for a couple of days and I want to share it with you and connect it with scripture.

The following is copied from the above book, however it is an iBook so the actual page number may not be accurate.

If God puts any one within our influence, let us tell them of Christ and heaven. The world may rise up and say that we are mad. In my opinion no one is fit for God’s service until he is willing to be considered mad by the world.

Is that a statement you hear every day? Honestly I have never heard that before, I have heard some pastors speak with that type of passion and conviction, but this really stood out to me.

I really can relate to this, because in all honestly a few years ago Jesus was constantly on my lips and tongue. Especially at work. To the fact that all the guys I work with would make comments that I was ‘Jesus Freaking’ every time I was on the phone or talking to someone else from another station. Honestly the only part that bothered me is I didn’t want to irritate the guys. I didn’t want to push guys away from the gospel of Jesus Christ. I didn’t want to discredit my witness where they could not have a conversation with me, worrying they had to hear about Jesus. But is that biblical thinking on my part?

Absolutely not.

So now I am really evaluating myself, and how I share God’s Word at work, and wherever I go. I want to be passionate about Christ and unafraid to forsake all. Of course I don’t want to be the irritating christian guy but look at what Jesus says:

John 15:18

If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you.

We really can’t expect to always have the best reputation when we stand up for Christ. We will be attacked from every side. The question is, are you willing to lose your life so that you can save it ? Is gaining the world really worth it? Even if you lose your soul? Will we continue to be ashamed of God’s Word and ashamed to live sanctified and holy? Are you willing to be a “mad man”?

My answers to those questions are: no, no, no, no and yes. I hope yours are too.

Men let us hunger and thirst for more of God. Let us live in a way that gives God all the glory, honor and praise, so that our light will not be hidden any longer. Rather we will be like cities on top of a hill, shining bright, unable to hide the glorious light of the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

Grace and Peace brothers.

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

