Skip to content

My Wrestling Match

February 16, 2016

Genesis 32:6

 And He said, “Let Me go, for the day breaks.”

But he said, “I will not let You go unless You bless me!”

CToy16JWwAA7Zai

I want to reference our last post, titled ‘Will You Wrestle with God’. I really enjoyed that devotion, and I was encouraged and inspired to start putting it directly into practice.

Last night my wife and I were talking about it, and I was sharing with her how I wanted to start praying/ wrestling with God about our finances. God has been so gracious to us, and He keeps showing His constant faithful fingerprint. However we still have some debt that we want to pay off before my wife starts our homeschooling this upcoming school year.

So this morning I went in to my prayer closet and took some time to try and wrestle with God. To ask God to bless us financially so that we can pay off this debt, and to be honest I have never really asked God this directly for financial blessings.

As I am praying the Holy Spirit nudges my heart and speaks to me, asking me how do I know if that is God’s Will?

That got me thinking.

The day before I was also listening to a sermon, and Pastor Mike Fabarez was talking about being careful what we ask for, especially if it is sinful because God just may grant it.

Was I being sinful? Well yes, if I want to push myself outside of God’s will.

So I start wrestling with these thoughts, I start pushing them up against what that last devotion said, and again in God’s still small voice He spoke to me again with the above verse.

Look at what it says: “I will not let You go unless You bless me!”

Jacob did not ask God for money, Jacob did not ask God to remove Esau from his life (Context of this story), or the upcoming standoff with Esau. No, Jacob demanded blessing.

What does that mean?

Well, as the devotion illustrated God’s blessing may not always be good and comfortable in the beginning. Jacob struggled and wrestled, Jacob was probably exhausted for a couple days from the ordeal and God through out his hip. BUT, what was clear was that Jacob’s faith grew!

It all made sense to me. I want my faith to grow, not my finances. I want God to bless me, I don’t want to be debt free. I am going to wrestle God to bless me, because I know it may involve a trial, a loss, a heartache or anything in those realms. I will be honest, there is some apprehension, who really wants a trial? But, I want what God wants, because I know God has my best interest, and because I want the blessing God has for my growth through all of it. I want God to use me for His glory. I want God to bless me so He is glorified. Even it’s painful.

 

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pausing to Learn from God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

