Skip to content

Do You Want to Be A David?

December 25, 2015

Acts 13:22

And when He had removed him, He raised up for them David as king, to whom also He gave testimony and said, ‘I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after My own heart, who will do all My will.’

Gods-own-heart

Do you want to be a David?

I know I do.

I wanted to only focus on one part of this verse, when the author is describing God’s description of David.

” a man after My own heart, who will do all My will.”

That is absolutely amazing and mind-blowing for me on many levels.

First of all to have God think this highly of you, and proclaim it.

Then the real sticking point for me is God says David will do all of His Will.

This is really hard for me to wrap my head around because I know how hard it is for me to always be obedient, and always follow all the rules.

In fact just today, I got micro managed at work and didn’t like it, so I didn’t listen. I ended up doing my own thing.

Let’s look at what made David this way:

1 Samuel 17:45-47

Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword, with a spear, and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the Lord will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you and take your head from you. And this day I will give the carcasses of the camp of the Philistines to the birds of the air and the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel. 47 Then all this assembly shall know that the Lord does not save with sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.”

David knew that God is Lord of All

  • David clearly shows here who he follows, and what his motivation is. There is no selfish promotion here, there is no desire to be someone great, or to acquire fame and recognition. David recognized wrong and sought to make it right. David also recognized a sovereign and holy God that promised to protect His people.

1 Samuel 18:14

 And David behaved wisely in all his ways, and the Lord was with him.

David Behaved Wisely

  • When faced in difficult situations David still chose to “behave wisely”. This phrase is mentioned four times in this chapter. Why is this a big deal? Because when things are not working out in our favor, when pride, fear, and worry start to creep in we can very easily take shortcuts and turn to self-preservation mode. David does not do this, instead he reveals how confident he is in God. His trust for God is so rock solid that he keeps faithfully serving his boss the king who continues to want to kill him.

1 Samuel 23:2,4

Therefore David inquired of the Lord, saying, “Shall I go and attack these Philistines?”

And the Lord said to David, “Go and attack the Philistines, and save Keilah.”

 Then David inquired of the Lord once again.

And the Lord answered him and said, “Arise, go down to Keilah.

For I will deliver the Philistines into your hand.”

David Sought the Lord Continuously

  • Many times throughout the books that cover David, the phrase: “David inquired of the Lord”; continues to emerge. David knew where all knowledge and wisdom come from. David also knew where his help came from. Although David continued to gain power, prestige and presence; he never got prideful to put himself before God. God always came first, and God was always His origin of direction.

There are so many other examples we could study, to learn the character of David, which is why he was a man after God’s heart. He made his mistakes, but he was quick to seek God and repent.

May the Lord give us, that desire it, the meekness of spirit to be obedient to His will, and all those that are in authority over us so we can become experts at being a good and faithful servant; men after God’s own heart.

 

 

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Light for the Christian Crossing

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

