Skip to content

Is Your Cup Running Over?

December 16, 2015

Psalm 23:5

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.

d757d65646a4080a204cc376d120ce37

Is your cup running over? If you’re not sure there is a simple test:

Colossians 3:15

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.

Having the peace of God in your hearts is the proof for the follower of Jesus Christ, that his cup is running over, or sometimes referred to as ‘filled with the Holy Spirit’.

I just started reading a book called The Calvary Road by Roy Hession (Its free on Ibooks if your interested). This book is about personal revival.

To make a long story short, it is all about the ‘cup’ referred in the above Psalm. Our hearts are like a cup, and God wants to not only fill up our cups but run it over with His oil, or rivers of living water (John 4), also known as the Holy Spirit.

The sticky part comes with the cleanliness of our cup. God can only fill our cup if our cup is clean.

You may be wondering what can make our cup dirty; well, its sin. Sin whether big or small will limit, or push away the work of God in our lives.

Personally, I am in a place where I am so hungry for God to move in my life, I want so much more of God every second. I want Him more in my thoughts, in my actions, I really need God and want Him to overflow my cup.

The problem is my cup is dirty, there is some sin in my heart that I need to really work on. I do not know how to do it on my own. I have been seeking God in this, but I am going to start pressing in on Him harder to reveal more of this sin in my heart and give me the grace and strength to overcome it and make things right in God’s eyes.

Is this difficult for me? Absolutely. But the alternative is so much worse. Rather than continue down a path of increasing bitterness, anger, pride and everything that comes with my sin I want to be free, I want to be used by God and I want the peace of God to fill my heart.

Remember reading passages in the bible about ask and you shall receive? Knock and the door will be opened? Or what about when Jacob wrestled with God all night?

I know with all my heart that is where these verses and promises are absolute slam dunks, they are money in the bank. Promises we can anchor down to.

I have to clean my cup, it is not an option because that is what God wants and that is where I want to be; with peace in my heart and a faithful servant to our Lord Jesus Christ.

This is God’s desire for you and I:

Acts 2:28

‘You have made known to me the ways of life;
You will make me full of joy in Your presence.’

My prayer is for those of you that need to cleanse your cup, that God will move in your heart and give you the desire to change and the desire to have your cup running over.

Blessings and Love

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pause, Reflect and Delight in God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

