Skip to content

Surrender All

November 4, 2015

Mark 14:36

And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”

tumblr_mh724esivz1rvjtt3o1_500_thumb

Jesus is praying to God, His Father, our heavenly Father right before being betrayed and taken captive, leading up to the cross.

The burden Jesus was carrying was nearly unbearable for Him in those moments of fleshly weakness. There is so much here, but I want to share two very important truths I have learned from this verse.

1. There is complete peace when we surrender to God.

  • In verse 34 it says “My soul is exceedingly sorrowful even to death…” Not sure about you but I have never been that sorrowful, but it sounds pretty heavy.
  • Then look in verse 42, very shortly after Jesus tells His disciples; “Rise, let us be going. See, My betrayer is at hand.”
  • That is a radical turnaround. Remember brothers, all things are possible WITH God.

2. When we pray, it is okay to pray for what we want, but we have to know how to surrender to God’s Will.

  • This is the key that unlocks the door. Without this act of surrender in our hearts, we will be unable to see God move in our prayers. Even if at times it seems our prayers may have been answered, the most powerful prayer is a prayer unrestricted my selfish desires.

These lyrics were in a song I just so happened to be listening to this morning, by Kristian Stanfill titled My Reward:

‘You are my Reward,

All I’m living for,

I surrender all my life to You.’

Men, I pray this will be the song of your heart.

 

Blessings

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

