Skip to content

Pain of Discipline…Child of God

October 19, 2015

Hebrews 12:3-11 NLT

For the Lord disciplines those he loves,
    and he punishes each one he accepts as his child.

11 No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.

Disciplining-Children

Good Morning Men!

The other morning the Lord placed something on my heart in regards to this passage of scripture as I was praying for my two brothers.

Both of my brothers know of Jesus, but do not know Him personally. My prayer for them everyday is that God will soften their heart, so they can know Him, love Him and follow Him. As I was praying this I also started praying that God would do whatever He needed to do in order that they may some to know Him as Lord of their lives.

By asking God to do whatever He needed, I really meant that literally.

When do people normally turn to God?

When things are bad, when their hope has been shaken, when things don’t look so promising. One of my brothers is in jail, I know that path can get much darker for Him. But my prayer is God will use this for His Glory.

That brings us to the above verse and passage, what does God’s discipline look like? Well in all honesty I don’t know. I do know that if I do not get to see my brother again, outside of jail, it would be worth it if He follows Jesus. If my brother were to suffer the worse thing you could think of it would be worth it, if he came to know Jesus as His personal Lord and Savior.

But let me pull some things from the above passage.

Verse 11 says that God’s discipline is painful.  I believe this pain can either be physically or mentally. I believe we can be in pain in our heart and that all of these things can make us turn to God. We also see that when we get through this type of pain, there is a peaceful harvest that we reap. Or in other words we grow stronger in Christ Jesus because of our pain. This pain leads us to deepen our intimacy and relationship with Christ Jesus.

My Challenge this morning for all of you; do we really believe in the promises of God? Do we really believe that God is in control and sovereign? Do we really believe that we do not live for this life that is so temporary, but rather we live for eternity with Jesus?

Men can you pray for those dear to your heart that do not know Jesus, whether your wife, your children, siblings…etc; can you pray that God would do whatever He has to in order that they will surrender their hearts to Him?

If you are confused, shaken and maybe even offended by what I said, lets look at what Jesus says:

Luke 9:25

  For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost?

 

 

From → Daily Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

