Skip to content

Healthy or Sick; Good or Sinner

October 2, 2015

Luke 5:31-32

31 Jesus answered and said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. 32 I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.”

74229a8773d6f2a7c0ae7c6270121ea2

The topic “sinner” has been heavy on my heart for a few days, and a recent conversation with a friend has brought it even more to the forefront of my heart and mind.

The above verse is coming from a conversation with the religious leaders of the time, and Jesus is explaining to them why He associates with “tax collectors and sinners”.

I can relate to this verse in many ways. I am 34 years old, I live a pretty active lifestyle, and both my jobs are very physical. Although I have some minor aches and pains, as far as I can tell I am pretty healthy. I have not made any attempt to see my doctor in several years. I think about it from time to time. I think that I should get in there for a checkup, in fact I know I am pretty close to the age where I should be scheduling routine checkups. However, because I feel as if all is well with me, I have not made any attempt to see my doctor.

Is this a foolish approach? yes it probably is, it really would not hurt much for me to get checked up regularly.

Now lets shift over to spiritually. What if I took that same approach with my spirituality? Lets say I think along the lines of most people today.

I am pretty good person, I try to do more good than harm. I have never killed anyone or done anything real bad. I give to the needy from time to time. I don’t cheat on my wife. I think I am a good father. So because of all this I really don’t see the need for a savior. I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a sinner, I just make mistakes from time to time, but no one is perfect!

Is there anything wrong with that mindset? Well according to the Word of God, yes.

We have to see ourselves as sick, and needy. This is very hard for many, in fact maybe for you right now. In fact Christianity works opposite from what many of us may think, especially newer believers.

The more we grow in our relationship with Jesus, the more we come to know Him and love Him as our personal Lord and Savior. The more you will realize your absolute and increasing need for Him.

Today I feel so needy and dependent on the love, grace and mercy of Jesus. I need Him more and more everyday. In no way am I fully matured in my relationship, but my need for Jesus is growing. The thoughts I have, the feelings that rip through me at times, the things that I want to say can many times be far from good.

So to hopefully tie all of this together: do I need a doctor because health is not guaranteed? Yes.

do I need a Savior because I am a sinner?

Absolutely, and His name is Jesus!

How about you; can you answer these questions, are you a sinner? do you need a savior?

From → Nibble of Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Mission Italia

The Joy of Kingdom Living in the Everyday

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

