Skip to content

Worship

January 31, 2015

Psalm 19:14

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Good Morning Men!

God has really been stirring my heart about worship. I have been stumbling into devotions and sermons that are all pointed at worship. Something I heard recently in regards to a worship team selecting their music for Sunday, that has not left my brain. Is that every song that is picked to sing, must stretch their minds.

Stretch their minds? I really had to think about that one for a bit. What does that look like for a song, or the lyrics of a song to stretch our mind? As I began thinking about a few songs that I have been enjoying recently it made sense.

There are songs as I am singing them, that cause me to really reflect on my relationship with God. Sometimes I am hit with an amazing wave of gratitude. Sometimes my heart is just broken for more of God. So many emotions have happened in these moments, but the main thing that happens is I am pushed in deeper reflection, praise and even prayer; right there in the song.

Can you relate to this? I hope so. If not you should probably seek this type of worship. I’m terrified of falling into the following category that Jesus points out:

Matthew 15:7-9

Hypocrites! Well did Isaiah prophesy about you, saying:

‘These people draw near to Me with their mouth, And honor Me with their lips,
But their heart is far from Me.
And in vain they worship Me,
Teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’ ”

As men we are always looking for challenges, that is why the name of this ministry is I Challenge You. Why not challenge yourself in worship? I recently heard about a challenge on a radio station about listening to christian music only for 30 days. I thought that sounded like a great idea for us.

I want to put out a challenge to all of us. For anyone interested, challenge yourself in music, to listen to nothing but christian music for the month of February.

I will follow-up more over the next few days on this. But go for it and watch God move more powerfully in your thoughts, and in your heart through music.

In regards to worship being a form of prayer, I read a an article recently that was really cool. It’s kind of long, but there was a bunch of gold in it. You can find it HERE if your interested.

 

Let’s let the words and meditation of our hearts be pleasing to God.

Grace and Peace to all.

From → Nibble of Bread

One Comment
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    Love that song.

Leave a Reply

Mission Italia

The Joy of Kingdom Living in the Everyday

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

