Skip to content

Ask. Seek. Knock.

August 15, 2014

Luke 11:9-13

matt7_7

Keep Asking, Seeking, Knocking

“So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. 11 If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent instead of a fish? 12 Or if he asks for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion? 13 If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

Good Morning Men!

This morning I wanted to share a powerful truth about prayer, what God’s Word teaches about prayer, and what I have personally learned about prayer.

My favorite part about the verse above is the connection between a father and a son, and how God relates this biblical truth to our relationship between Him as our Heavenly Father, and we as His Sons.

God clearly tells us here and many other places throughout His Word that He wants to bless us. He wants to pour continuous blessings upon us. There is no limit to the amount and depth of blessing that God has stored up for us waiting for the ripe taking.

As men living in this world the problem happens when we get God’s blessings mixed up with material things in this life. God has shown me that not only are His blessings different from what we think and perceive most of the time, but that His blessings are so much more rewarding and life breathing.

Personally one of my earliest lessons learned in this was about contentment. Six or seven years ago I began asking God to give me a spirit of contentment. I constantly wanted new toys and new things. My list was endless and I was never satisfied. I had a list for every hobby I had, and all the accessories to fill it. This was causing some problems in my marriage, and I knew this was not a healthy mindset in our finances.

So I began to pray, everyday.

Everyday I would ask God for a spirit of contentment. I knew He would answer because His Word teaches us that we should be content in all things. I knew that God wanted me to be wiser with my marriage and my finances, so I knew He would deliver.

And of course, All Glory to the God who hears, He answered.

It took time to notice, maybe a year. I’m not exactly sure. In time I began noticing my materialistic wants were disappearing. Up to this present day when my birthday or Christmas comes around, and my wife and daughter ask what I want. It usually is tough to think of something. It really has been an awesome thing for me, and my marriage and our finances.

Since then there have been other similar prayer requests, some have come full circle as God has already answered, some are being answered and many more will be asked and answered I am sure of it!

My point is that I am 100% convinced that when we pray biblical things over our lives. Things that God either commands us or directs us to live by He is faithful and just to deliver.

Men if you can grab a hold of this, and search the areas of your heart where you need His Blessings, begin to pray, faithfully pray these truths into your life, God Almighty will deliver.

For those of you that are not saved, and do not have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. You must first be born again. Ask Him into your heart. Profess your believe in Him, and His Son Jesus Christ, that you believe He died for your sins, and rose from the dead. Conquering Sin and death in one blow.

 

 

From → Nibble of Bread

One Comment
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    Amen. Prayer is a powerful tool that brings us closer to the LORD.

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

