Skip to content

Why we Pray

August 1, 2014

Psalm 139:23-24

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me, and know my anxieties;
24 And see if there is any wicked way in me,
And lead me in the way everlasting.

Sin-Separates-From-GOD

There is so much power in prayer! Prayer is one of our spiritual weapons. God’s Word has declared to us that we don’t fight against flesh and blood, but rather against the evil powers of this world (Ephesians 6).

But why do we need to pray?

What I have learned about prayer is that it is our way to basically say, I can’t do it, I need your help God!

So my next question is how is your prayer life?

If it is lacking or non-existent, then it is safe to say you have a prideful heart and you think that you are doing fine all by yourself. You think that if you just had a little more time, or a little more fun, or a little more of this or that you will be able to figure it out and pull through.

This is a dangerous place to be.

Many of us have obvious things in our heart, mind and lives that we know without a doubt does not align with God’s Word. So what are you doing about it?

Are you ignoring that constant tugging on your heart? That tugging on your heart is called the Holy Spirit. He will not tugg forever, eventually we can harden our heart to a place where we do not feel that tugging.

Another technique, is twisting scripture. Like saying homosexuality is okay because God is Love and loves everyone. What about 3 or more scriptures that say it is sin?

Sin will always separate us from God. If you have unrepentant, habitual sin in your life but you’re praying, going to church, tithing and saying your hallelujah and Praise the Lords every now and then around Christian friends…Your Wasting Your Time.

Look at what David says in Psalm 51 after his sin of adultery and murder:

For I acknowledge my transgressions,
And my sin is always before me.
Against You, You only, have I sinned,
And done this evil in Your sight—

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me away from Your presence,
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Dear friends, God wants to heal you, restore you and set you free. But He demands our whole heart!! When we turn our lives over to Jesus and the Holy Spirit lives inside of us, He must have access to every room in your heart. We must not have any locked doors where the Spirit of God is not allowed to enter. You will constantly fight against yourself, you will never grow in Christ and your joy will be empty.

Heavenly Father may you give us all the humility and faith to surrender our hearts to you, help me to trust in you to deliver me, restore me and set me free. Help me to set my mind on things that are above, and help me to live for you with all my heart. In Jesus Name Amen!!

From → Nibble of Bread

One Comment
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    Amen. 1 Thessalonians 5:17 sums it up pretty good, “pray without ceasing.”

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

