Skip to content

Slave to all…

April 1, 2014

1 Corinthians 9:19

Even though I am a free man with no master, I have become a slave to all people to bring many to Christ.

1-corinthians-9-19

 

So the verse above was pressed on my heart yesterday during a sermon I was listening to at work. There is a situation in my life that has been there for a while and because of my walk in Christ and their walk in the world it has caused some division in a few very important relationships in my life.

This was not intended to be a pity party, but rather just some background information.

These individuals have not tried to be understanding in my life, or my challenges, but rather have been wondering why I don’t do certain things the way they want it done. In all honesty my heart has been hardened, and in the last few months it has gotten a bit worse, until yesterday when this verse was placed on my heart.

So how do I be obedient to this, and work on fixing this root of bitterness in my heart? I must become a servant or slave to all. Jesus came to serve not be served, and He desires us to have this same mindset. It’s not about my feelings, my wants or my desires. But if my actions are pushing these individuals away from Christ, then I am wrong. I don’t want to push people away, I want them to see that Christ is real, that He is Alive in me, and that without Him I would be absolutely lost and blowing it.

Since God has given me the grace and understanding to see this, I must act on this. I must be a servant to these individuals. I want to be their for them in love. I want to put my desires to the side so that these very important relationships will not suffer. In the hope that the light of Jesus Christ that is inside of me will shine one them.

If you can relate to this or you are struggling in a similar way pray and ask God for the guidance and the strength to love in this way. I know this may be a tough concept for some of you, and that is fully understandable. It has taken me several years to grow and be able to work at something like this. Understand that this is not an excuse to compromise or live in a way that is contrary to God’s Word. Rather it is a mindset change, a renewing of our mind so that we are filled with the thoughts and desires of Christ rather than of our own selfish ways.

 

From → Nibble of Bread

2 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    Amen brother K. As hard as it is we are called to be the light in this dark world and to set aside our own wants and desires for those of others. This Godly calling is contrary to our fleshly nature and the two are in constant battle with each other everyday. But, thanks be to God that He gave us His son and the Holy Spirit to help us be that servant He has called us all to be.

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

