Skip to content

Preach the Gospel : The New Birth

August 25, 2013

Romans 8:13

For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

OXYGEN VOLUME 13

The idea of a New Birth is confusing, and doesn’t make much sense at first glance. Especially for those that have not heard much talk or discussion on this subject. But lets try to bring some light to this area.

This series was designed to equip those spreading the Good News of the Gospel with a 5 section format, and with power verses to highlight each section. Our goal was to further equip those already spreading the Gospel, to encourage those too afraid to share the Gospel, to encourage those investigating the truth of the Gospel in their own lives, and to bring light to those in the dark.

So far the five sections we have discussed are: The Validity of the Bible, Sin, Forgiveness, Life, and now The New Birth.

This New Birth that is discussed in John 3 by Jesus is essential to grow in your walk with Christ. The nuts and bolts of Christianity is that we need to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. We need to know Him, abide in Him, and then will He abide in us. But in order do this we need to be “Born Again”.

The Bible breaks it down that we as humans are of both flesh and spirit. The fleshly side of us is easy to believe and understand because that is what we all see and feel. The spiritual side is the tough one, we cant see it, and some of us feel it more than others.

When you begin to seek God, and to believe in Jesus; understand that you have now created a conflict in your body, Spirit vs. Flesh. In order to be victorious in this life and the next, your Spirit man needs to Win! Well, how do we do that? Jesus, and Paul through God’s Spirit teaches us how.

The verses below will guide you, but lets touch on them. The first thing is to decide whether or not you believe in Jesus.

Do you believe that Jesus died on the cross for your sins?

Do you believe that Jesus rose from the dead three days later?

If the answers to these questions are yes, then Praise God, understand that this has only been revealed to you by God, you have been chosen (John 1:12-13).

Secondly we need to confess this (Romans 10:9), we need to confess with our mouth that we believe these things, and that we believe Jesus is Lord, and that we want Him to be Lord of our lives.

The Bible then teaches us that we should be baptized with water. This baptism is a public profession of your faith. It is symbolic of what Jesus did in His death and Resurrection. We are laying down our old sinful nature, and rising up a new creation in Christ! Did anything change instantly with that? Absolutely not, it’s symbolic of the change that will begin to take place as Jesus now lives inside of you, and you become a slave to righteousness rather than a slave to sin.

Below are the verses to reference you in this New Birth. Romans 7 and 8 are also very good reading that describe this constant conflict of our sinful nature (flesh), and our spirit man.

The New Birth

John 3:5

Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.

Romans 10:9

…that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.

Mark 16:16

He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned.

I hope and pray this series has helped you in some way. If you have not already been Born Again, and you would like to say this prayer with me:

Heavenly Father, I know that you have chosen me and I thank you. I know I am a sinner and I know that I need a savior. Please help me to turn from the sin in my life. I need your help, I cannot do it on my own any longer. I have tried and I am failing. Heavenly Father, I believe in your Son Jesus. I believe that He died on that cross on Calvary for my sins. I believe that His blood washes me clean. I believe that just as your Son said He would; He rose three days later. Please come into my heart, restore me and redeem me because this is consistent with who you are Almighty God. I thank you and Praise you, please put people in my life to help me and show what to do next. In your Holy, Holy, Holy name I pray, AMEN!

Congratulations, if you have just said that prayer for the first time, you are now a Child of the Most High God, you are saved and angels are rejoicing in Heaven over you!

“… Likewise, I say to you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Luke 15:10

 

Get caught up with the rest of 5 part Series if you havent : Preach the Gospel : Life

From → Devotions

2 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    Spirit vs. Flesh, what a constant battle. Thanks be to God that He gives us a Comforter in the Holy Spirit to guide and empower us.

Leave a Reply

Mission Italia

The Joy of Kingdom Living in the Everyday

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

