Skip to content

Biblical Purpose – GO!

April 21, 2013

Matthew 28:19-20

19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

GoAndMakeDisciples2

The second part of this little series in Biblical Purpose is from this verse, also known as the Great Commission.

Go! That word, in the verse above jumped out at me when I read through this verse to try to really understand it. As Christians we will never fully accomplish what God has planned for us unless we Go!

This doesn’t mean that we all have to become missionaries in a third world country, where the name of Jesus is not known yet. Is that needed yes, but not all of us will be called to do that. God is calling us from wherever we are right now.

The places we frequent the most, like work;  or the places we have the deepest relationships are all good starting points. For some of us God has already been speaking to our heart to do something, maybe you’re ignoring the still small voice nudging your heart. For others maybe God’s calling and we keep saying; we’re All-In God, but I just need this, to be taken care of first. Or some of us may be in flat-out disobedience.

Whatever situation you’re in its time to change. Jesus said, He wants us to have life, and life more abundantly (John 10:10). We all need to Go. I have had a couple of situations myself where I just wanted a few more things to line up before I did what God was calling me to do. And as I sat around nothing was happening, nothing was changing.

God needed to speak to my heart, and show me that as I’m seeking Him constantly He will be a lamp for my feet and a light for my path (Psalm 119:105). In Christ, we have the potential through faith alone to move mountains, Lets just start by fulfilling our basic calling as Christians: Live a life that is pleasing to God, not out of religious practices but driven by our hearts deepest desires. And secondly to Glorify and Praise The Name of Jesus to all people, everywhere Go.

Remember, Obedience is Grace in Motion.

From → Nibble of Bread

3 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    I love the last part of verse 20 where Jesus says “I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” All of my doubts and fears should be crushed by this verse. Knowing that Jesus, the one whom “all authority has been given to in heaven and on earth” (Mathew 28:18) has made this promise to us, we should boldly “Go” and preach the gospel to the ends of the earth.

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

