Skip to content

Is your Praise, Half-Hearted or Whole-Hearted?

April 16, 2013

Psalm 9:1 NKJ

I will praise You, O Lord, with my whole heart;…

MUSIC-29-e1319558854156

This morning I wanted to start my devotion time by praying through the Psalms. I was moved to start in Psalm 9, the problem was; it took me several minutes to make it pass the first verse, let me tell you why.

This morning I woke up battling a seed of bitterness in my heart. I was really having a tough time getting over it, so I decided to not act in love with this situation I was battling. Then I read the above verse…Ouch!

How could I Praise my Lord with all my heart if I was allowing a seed of bitterness to continue its growth inside of me. How could I read this verse knowing that I wasnt doing that, how could I pray this verse knowing that I was really only Praising God with half of my heart?

I was totally floored by this conviction and of course took several minutes to plead, and wrestle it out with God. In the end, His Love overpowered my bitterness. Praise God!

But I wanted to share two other verses that came into play with this situation.

In Ephesians 5:26 NKJ, Paul is describing the relationship between Christ and His Church (us). It says:

…that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word,…

As a shower cleanses us after a long day of dirt and grime build up on our bodies, so does The Word of God cleanse our spirit as we read it, meditate on it, and apply it. BUT…

Romans 12:3 NLT

… I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves,…

I was very close to over-looking this seed of bitterness, just brushing it off as nothing and continue in my praying through the Psalms. But then I would be just going through the motions during the rest of my devotion time. If that’s the case, it’s pointless, God’s Word says that HE desires love not sacrifice.

Be honest with yourselves, Read God’s Word and ALLOW it to change your life by the washing of His Word, then and only then can we truly Praise Him with our Whole-Heart.

From → Nibble of Bread

2 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    I’ve felt a lot of anger in my heart these last couple of days and continue to be angry at what happened in Boston with the terrorist bombings. I want nothing more than to catch these cowards and bring them to justice. I’m also upset at all of these politicians who come out and invoke the name of God and ask for prayer when tragedy like this happens and yet in a few months from now they will go back to supporting the killing of innocent babies through abortion, supporting and promoting gay rights and gay marriage and putting forth other agendas which are contrary to the Word of God.

    I share this as I to cannot praise the LORD with my whole heart if I continue to have anger in my heart. I give it to the LORD as He says that “vengeance is Mine, I will repay” (Dueteronomy 32:35 and Romans 12:19).

    • He who is slow to anger is better than the mighty, And he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city. Proverbs 16:32

      Im learning (from mistakes) that when I react in anger Im walking in my flesh. But when I restrain that anger and bring it under control, I start seeking and relying on the Spirit for guidance.

      Praise God for your anger, that’s why your a lawyer that seeks justice and equality. May God continue to teach you how to control it and use your anger for the maximum amount of Godly good. So that HIS light may shine and you will be salt to all the ears and eyes that watch and listen to you MIke! Amen!

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pause, Reflect and Delight in God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

