Skip to content

My Hope is in God!

March 9, 2013

Why I am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again – my Savior and my God! Psalm 42:11 NLT

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Psalm really inspired me this morning. It is a powerful passage of King David (author) going through some trials in his life and an obvious tough time. But what I love so much and what is so powerful he doesnt allow his mental troubles to effect his spiritual strength. This is so common for many of us, whenever we face external challenges the common reaction is to begin doubting God. Is God really there? Does he really love me?

We allow the devil to fill ourselves with all these lies of negativity. If you think about it when we do this we are so weak and foolish. There are hundreds if not thousands of verses in the Bible that either directly speak of Gods unfailing love and faithfulness, or passages that point to his love and faithfulness.

Sometimes we even like to blame God. Typical human instinct that, its never my fault. We continue on in our sorrows and negativity, rather than getting in the Word of God which is nothing but TRUTH. We all need to have a self-check mindset, or be able to look within and see why this situation is going so bad. Start with simple questions like; have I been reading my Bible? have I been consistently praying not only on this situation but for God’s guidance in my walk? Are the people I am associating with rubbing off on me with negativity, should I continue to hang with people like this?

What King David does in this passage is actually a technique I use and have actually been trying to encourage to others around me. When I have negative thoughts, which I know guarantee these are not of God. Rather than dwelling on this thought, I first of all rebuke that thought in the mighty name of Jesus. Which that name alone, has been given all authority in heaven and on earth, so nothing can stand against it. Then I fill it with truth, the Word of God.

The King does this; he has a negative thought and fills it with “I will put my hope in God!. He has another negative thought and fills it with “I will praise him again – my Savior and my God!

Lets have this type of faith. Unwavering faith!

Throwback devotion, from a year ago. God’s Word never changes!

From → Nibble of Bread

2 Comments
  1. Elisha's Vision permalink

    Checked out “My Hope is in God!”. Amen Really liked it. Encouraging

    • Right on brotha!! God is so Good!! Thank you for letting me know, your encouragement, encourages me and our Father gets Glorified!!

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Light for the Christian Crossing

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Projectâ„¢

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

