Skip to content

Nibble of Bread : Revelation 3:15-16

August 30, 2012

Lukewarm

Revelation 3:15-16

15 “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! 16 But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot not cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!

This morning I woke up and I was not feeling it. Lately I have been fighting to continue feeling it. God gave me a vision for the path for my life in January. Since then I have been on an up and down roller coaster of trying to follow that path. Things would go good, then things would go sour. But somehow God always found a way to lead me into His glory. But to be completely honest I have no idea what the heck I’m doing. I started two websites, I do the email thing to currently 51 men. But to be honest each day I’m searching. I’m searching God’s heart and desire to make sure I’m doing what He wants, not what I want. But most of the time recently I’ve been doubting what I’m doing.

Then this morning came, and I really just felt empty. I havent felt this emptiness in a long time. As I was reading the Word I was just empty and searching. So  much so that mid-sentence I had to drop to me knees and I just began crying out to God. I cried out that I am lost. I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m not sure If I’m doing what He wants me to do or I’m drifting in my own patterns and routines. Then this phrase began resonating through my thoughts: “Stay Faithful”.

That phrase soothed my crying soul. The voice was the Holy Spirit leading me back to what God placed on my heart in January. The reason I know this is because thats what I read in God’s Word. I have read that when God puts something on our heart we need to believe in His promise. God’s Word never wavers. We waver but God doesn’t. I was wavering, I was leaning on my own thoughts. Seeking comfort in the things I think I need. But I have to lean on God’s promises, God’s timing will not be like my own. I need God’s timing to continue His work in me, as we all do. When we think we are ready, or we have had enough, God says…uh, not yet buddy.

My final cry out was that I did not want to doubt His promise to me. I need to remember His plan for my life is set. My fear was that I would grow blind in my own path, thinking I’m on God’s path. A Lukewarm mindset can do this. Feeling warm enough that we are not cold, but yet cold enough not to be hot. So we think, I must be doing alright cause I definitely aint cold. Well that terrifies me. I don’t want to be cold, but I definitely don’t want to be Lukewarm. I want to be burning hot! Hot and rich in God’s love, peace, grace and mercy.

I’m learning that this is a process of development and purifying. If I wavered on my thoughts this morning, I could have slid back a few steps spiritually. Probably unnoticed to everyone around me, maybe even myself. But if I continue this slide, a little each day, or a little each week; where do I stand in six months? Probably not Hot, maybe not cold; my guess is warm. I don’t want to be warm, and my hearts cry and burden is that none of you fall prey to this trap by the devil either.

With deepest love, joyful burden, but greater Joy in the LORd!

Kaaina

From → Nibble of Bread

2 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    The book of Revelation is one of my favorite books in the Bible. I learn something new everytime I read it. This verse has always scared the heck out of me. It’s a good fear though because it teaches me that we should all live to be on fire for the LORD. Every second of every day of our lives we should be sold out for Christ, not just going through the motions, but 100% dedicated to seeking the LORD and his guidance in every aspect of our lives. This verse couldn’t be any clearer. You are either for the LORD or against HIM. There’s no in between. You can’t live your life with one foot in the world and the other in the LORD. Nor should you want to as you will miss out of all the blessings the LORD has in store for you. I pray we all have that burning fire inside of us to seek the LORD, be MEN OF GOD, willing to stand up to the evils of this world and proclaim that Christ is our Saviour and LORD.

    Now to you brother K. Our most difficult times come when we are following the LORD with all of our heart, soul and mind (which is what I know you are doing). These are the times that the devil’s fiery darts never seem to cease. These are the times that the devil will try anything and everything to get us to doubt ourselves, or doubt our LORD and turn away from him. The devil does not concern himself with unbelievers b/c he knows that their fate is already sealed (unless of course they come to know Christ as their Saviour). His never ending attacks are laid against the believers in Christ (you and me) b/c he knows that we are going to heaven. This website and your dedication to sending out an email to all 51 men every day has been a huge blessing to me and I’m sure to others as well. Remember, all it takes is for one person to stumble across your website, or for one of the guys to forward one of your emails to someone whose struggling and if one person get’s saved b/c of this website or b/c of one of your emails, it’s all worth it my brother. Stay faithful, stay strong in the LORD and continue the fight. As you know, it’s not easy, but it’s all worth it. Love you brother K.

    • Yes this book of Revelation is amazing! So deep, so powerful, exciting and scary. I love what you said, There’s no in between. The sad thing is many “christians” think there is. Praise God for your prayer and I am in full agreement with it. Amen!

      Thank you so much for the support. yes we are targets and Im learning how to endure the trial, rebuke the lies, and stand strong in the end. And yes, even for one, everything was worth it. Thank you brother. Love you and TGBTG!

Leave a Reply

Pursuing My Own Path

Simple Slow Living, the Italian Way

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

