Skip to content

Nibble of Bread : Psalm 112:1-3

August 16, 2012

Eternal Success

Psalm 112:1-3

Praise the Lord! How joyful are those who fear the Lord and delight in obeying his commands. 2 Their children will be successful everywhere; an entire generation of godly people will be blessed. 3 They themselves will be wealthy, and their good deeds will last forever.

This passage really struck me in my heart this morning when I read it. My heart is to live for God in everything I do, through obedience and love. My heart is also to be the best dad that I can be, to raise up children that first of all love God more than anything, secondly to be successful for Him. I also want to be wealthy; extremly wealthy in love, relationships, joy and peace. I want this wealth passed on to my children and everyone I know. If I can keep these desires as my hearts focus I trust completely that God will bring an everlasting impact with these good deeds. Deeds that will never die, because they will be passed from generation to generation. From one friend to another, from one brother to another.

From → Nibble of Bread

2 Comments
  1. Mike Sands permalink

    This is a great verse. One of my greatest concerns in life is what type of World my son Michael is going to grow up in. There will come a time when he will leave the protection of his home and mother and father and go out into this World and fend for himself and I constantly worry that this sinful World is going to take hold of him and not let him go. This verse does give me comfort though as I read it as a promise. If I fear the Lord and keep His commandments, I will not only be blessed but my children will be blessed as well. They will be “mighty” in this World and will be “upright.” Whether we believe it or not, our relationship with God will effect our children’s relationship with God as well. A memory that has always stuck in my head growing up was seeing my Dad reading his Bible every morning at 4:45 a.m. with his cup of coffee. I would always ask him what he was reading that morning and he would give me a little Bible study every morning on what he was reading. That has always stuck in my head and I pray that my son Michael will see me as a Man of God just like I see my father as a Man of God.

    • Yes it is very troubling to think of this, but could you imagine facing it without the true word of God leading our lives? But yes this verse brings many comforts, but also challenges. As you said we need to always fear the Lord, and keep His commandments.

      Your memory was very touching to me also, brought me to tears. Not only for you and your dad and the connection that made. But also for me and the example I am trying to leave for my children. Thank you Mike.

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pausing in Quiet Stillness Before the Lord

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

