Skip to content

Daily Bread : Hosea 10,11,12; Psalm 73; Hebrews 4

July 7, 2012

If the notes are incomplete feel free, to add in anything you have. I will be following up as soon as I can. Lets Grow!

For newcomers this blog is dedicated to the reading below. Readings are updated daily at www.i-challengeyou.com, click on devotions page. Join us by doing the readings and engaging with us everyday, as we learn about God’s Word daily.

For those of you already following along, If you miss a day, don’t sweat it. But stay committed and watch God move in your life!

Notes from todays reading.

Reading…

Hosea 10-12:

The tear in God’s heart is obvious reading these chapters. But His unfailing love is also undeniable. God longs for His people to turn to Him. To seek Him in love and in guidance. This desire of God’s is not limited to the people of Israel, but carries forth to all nations (Amos 9:12 among many other places) and all people.

10:4 – you might say I’m stretching this one, but I feel God put this one on my heart. There is a saying that I have been hearing very often around the fire station. It usually comes from the old timers. “They don’t make ‘um like they used too”. When I read this verse I thought of how different kids are raised today as compared to at least my father’s days which would have been in the 70’s. Men of my dads time would do anything to hold their end of the deal, or remain true to their word. This verse speaks of how empty words bring forth injustice. I’m sure you would agree, but I feel our society is filled with unwavering injustice. Men of old were following biblical principles. To be a man of your word. God says it here that empty words sprout injustice. Something for us to think about.

Psalm 73:

This is a pretty cool Psalm because most of us have probably thought or felt this way…maybe still do. But for these people verse 18-20 are the cold hard facts. Trials and adversity can easily shake these people. Putting them in constant fear, torment and worry. But when we can acknowledge our ignorance and lean on his counsel and guidance we are strong forever. I love and agree with verse 28. It is so good to be near God, and I want to tell everyone of all the wonderful things he has, is and going to do in my life!

Hebrews 4:

WOW. This chapter got dynamite packed right through it. Verse 1 is the real deal, and I don’t know about you but that scares me. The Word of God never fails, so this hard truth is heavy.

Verse 11 gave me a simple equation, let me know if you agree. Disobedience = Eternal Death.

Verse 12 is my favorite power verse about the Bible. Verse 13 is heavy and should never be forgotten.

Verse 16 gave me some great insight. I was just reading in a book about grace, and the abuse or misuse of grace amongst Christians today. But this verse makes it real clear to me. By coming boldly to the throne we can find the grace to help us when we need it most. Which is before we make the wrong decision. So in other words before we sin we boldly approach the throne in our weakness of temptation, no matter how ugly it is. Verse 13 says God already sees it, so no sense trying to hide it. So we receive the help through grace to overcome, now we can be victorious over sin. But…we have turned grace inside-out; We sin, then ask for forgiveness. We sin again then ask for forgiveness and tell yourself and others its Ok, because you are not perfect and God’s grace redeems us. What? Thats not what this verse says…So please someone correct me if I’m wrong, but our Christian culture has Grace all wrong.

 

From → Daily Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies & Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

