Skip to content

Daily Bread : 2 Kings 10; 2 Chronicles 22,23; 1 Timothy 5

June 23, 2012

If the notes are incomplete feel free, to add in anything you have. I will be following up as soon as I can. Lets Grow!

For newcomers this blog is dedicated to the reading below. Readings are updated daily at www.i-challengeyou.com, click on devotions page. Join us by doing the readings and engaging with us everyday, as we learn about God’s Word daily.

For those of you already following along, If you miss a day, don’t sweat it. But stay committed and watch God move in your life!

Notes from todays reading.

In progress…read through them but nothing really stood out. Going to try again through the day.

2 Kings 10:
After replying to the comment I thought it was well deserved to bring more light to the passion of King Jehu. When we serve God, we should align our lives and live in a way were people can see that same type of passion. This passion must be pure, genuine and always under constant review. When we don’t continually monitor our faith, sin will creep in. I’m reminded of 2 Timothy 4:7 where Paul speaks of how he has fought the good fight, remained faithful, therefore finishing the race.

1 Timothy 4:16 says that we must closely watch how we live, which means really being honest with yourself and the things we do!

2 Chronicles 22:

It’s interesting how God allows evil people to be in control while the righteous are in hiding. No one knows the depth of God’s plans and schemes. But we do know God is Faithful. We do know God ‘s word never wavers. And because of this we have to always lean on Him through good times and bad times expecting his deliverance. We should never put a time frame, or restrictions to the possibilities of God’s deliverance. Thats why its called faith. Faith that gets developed by perseverance, endurance and patience.

2 Chronicles 23:

Verse 1 describes the courage that Jehoiada gathered up in order to step into his purpose. I think it’s real interesting that this is mentioned. It reminds me of the very first email devotion I sent out. I was scared, I was doubtful and I really did not want to do it at first. But I had been praying for growth, asking God to lead me and guide me. If I didn’t take this step then how could God answer my prayers?

1 Timothy 5:

From → Daily Bread

2 Comments
  1. 2 Kings 10- Wow! Jehu went nuts for God. Man this guy was seriously devoted to God, he killed all of Ahabs’ family and anyone associated with Ahab and ALL the baal worshipers in Israel. Then I get to verse 29 and made one of those scooby doo sounds “oogh” you know the sound. Then I get to verse 31 and was like “awww dude” and i felt like I just saw the worlds fastest man Usain Bolt quit just before breaking the tape. Then I thought, “did I get rid of all the golden calves in my life?” God’s Word is also a mirror. Gotta always be checking, making sure we not walking around with boogers hanging. The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the word of our God stands forever Isaiah 40:8

    • You right brotha. He was a man on a mission. Pretty intense, but gotta love his passion to serve God. But I know the sound man. I was really bummed in our friend King Jehu myself.

      But I love your conviction. So true, I was having those same thoughts from 1 Timothy 4:16. I jotted in my Bible that our lives need to be transparent, and we need to be truly honest when we look at ourselves and our actions.

      Praise God for His unfailing Word that is sharper than a two-edged sword, dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow and judging the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. I think a pretty clear indication of Bulgars hanging out your nose is when the Word of God stops cutting you!

      Thanks for you insight my braddah. Miss and love you! Hope u staying awake!

Leave a Reply

Pursuing my Own Path

To simplicity and beyond...by way of Italy

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

