Skip to content

Daily Bread : Proverbs 22,23,24; Romans 14

June 2, 2012

If the notes are incomplete feel free, to add in anything you have. I will be following up as soon as I can. Lets Grow!

For newcomers this blog is dedicated to the reading below. Readings are updated daily at www.i-challengeyou.com, click on devotions page. Join us by doing the readings and engaging with us everyday, as we learn about God’s Word daily.

For those of you already following along, If you miss a day, don’t sweat it. But stay committed and watch God move in your life!

Notes from todays reading.

Proverbs 22:

Verse 15 is a proverb that I have no problems agreeing with, but I know many people don’t. But how can we believe that Jesus died for our sins but not believe this Proverb?  Both of these are said in the same Bible, so why follow one and not the other. We have to be careful how we use our “rod of discipline”. It should never be overused, and should never be used in anger. But as Men of God we need to follow all the commands of the Bible, not pick and choose which ones suite our desires or lifestyles best. Many times it may be the wives who have the problem with physical discipline, this is where our teaching, and educating of the Word to our wives come in. Included with the teaching, is we need to apply this discipline with the love and self-control of Christ, not the anger and rage that our flesh can succumb to at times
Proverbs 23:

Proverbs 24:

Romans 14:

This chapter was primarily speaking of eating certain foods, and honoring certain days. I don’t think  this is a big problem amongst most, if not all of us. If it is please bring it up in discussion, I would love to hear about it.

But I do feel this chapter can be referred to many other aspects of our lives with these same guidelines to follow. For me I really like to bet on big games like the super bowl, or other random games, or even enter pools during a season. But there are many strings attached to this behavior for me. The first and most important is that there are people who maybe know me as a church guy, but don’t know me really well. So when they hear, or see my gambling this may cause my walk to be in question; whether he is a christian or not. So in order to follow the guidelines of Romans 14, If I know of someone who thinks it is wrong for christians to gamble, and I continue, now I am wrong. Secondly throughout the years of betting, there were many times I did not have peace with it. I didn’t feel like it was a sin, but I didn’t feel that it was totally right. So according to verse 23, If I continued (which I did for several years) now I am actually sinning. So know lets test this chapter; If I feel guilty gambling I should stop. But does that make it wrong for you? Absolutely not, according to this chapter if your conscience is clear, than praise God do your thing! It’s not my right to judge what you do if it does not clearly say to stay away from it in the Bible.

So we must learn to be accepting of others ways as long as they don’t cross the integrity and structure of the Word. If someones ways are against the Word, now that’s different, we are not to be accepting and tolerant of these types of actions amongst fellow brothers. So if our non-christian friend gambles like nobody’s business, we are not to impress upon him our ways, and the reasons for our ways. When you live in the world, your conscience is free from many things that ours are not. Our job is to live our lives as living sacrifices so they can see the Love of Christ in us, even through our differences!

Glory to God

From → Daily Bread

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sheila's Selah

Pause, Reflect and Delight in God's Word

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

