Skip to content

Daily Bread : 1 Kings 6; 2 Chronicles 3; Psalm 97 ; Romans 1

May 20, 2012

If the notes are incomplete feel free, to add in anything you have. I will be following up as soon as I can. Lets Grow!

For newcomers this blog is dedicated to the reading below. Readings are updated daily at www.i-challengeyou.com, click on devotions page. Join us by doing the readings and engaging with us everyday, as we learn about God’s Word daily.

For those of you already following along, If you miss a day, don’t sweat it. But stay committed and watch God move in your life!

Notes from todays reading.

1 Kings 6:

When I read verse 12-13 the question that came to my mind was: How different would things be if the Israelites listened? Just think if God remained among the Israelites for the last few thousand years and was still a constant presence amongst them. I wonder how many more people would have to believe in God? Because of their disobedience I wonder if they are held responsible for part of the disbelief in our world today?

As I was reading about this temple I was getting very impressed and wishing I could have seen something like this. But a quiet nudging by the Holy Spirit pressed upon my heart that this temple is in no way comparable to the beauty’s of heaven! Praise God. Human hands are no comparison to heavenly wonders.

2 Chronicles 3:

Dont know if you caught that part in verse 1 that says that temple was built on the threshing floor of Araunah? If you didnt this is in regards to 2 Samuel 24:16 where the Angel of the Lord was slaying Israelites throughout the entire land. The Lord showed his great mercy and grace right here at this threshing floor of Araunah. The death was supposed to continue but the Angel placed his sword back in His sheath at the Lords command of mercy. I still dont think we can fathom how big this actually was, but it seems huge to me. Seventy thousand people had already been slayed, who knows how many were spared right here. What a symbolic place for this temple, to give God the glory and honor at the place he showed such great mercy.

Psalm 97:

Verse 6 made think of how amazing it is to look up in the heavens, especially at night. The stars are so amazing to me, and to think the Bible says that God’s hand spans the universe, to think that God knows not only how many stars there are, but every name of every star. Our God is so amazing and his magnificence is so obvious to me and I love to just enjoy what he has placed for us to marvel at him and his power.

Romans 1:

Without the power of the Holy Spirit I lack the knowledge and understanding to bring out the depth that Romans has. But through your prayers and by the power of the Holy Spirit this will be an exciting time of growth for all of us in this powerful book written by the Apostle Paul.

The first sentence set the tone for me and melted my heart, combined with verse 9. I personally long for this type of heart for myself and all of you.

Verses 19-27 bring up some points and facts of our faith. I always seek for scripture and ways to be able to stand up for my faith if needed. I dont go looking for a fight or an argument, but if the situation arises we need to be equipped to stand firm and strong for Jesus Christ and what he represents. The area on homosexuality is one of many areas in the Bible were God clearly does not approve of this behavior. I truly feel that this is going to be one of the most common battles of persecution that we as christians will face more and more on a daily basis. Our society is becoming increasingly acceptant towards homosexuality. In fact the supporters of it become very defensive and judgemental towards those that oppose it. We need to be more and more equipped in this time we live in and be able to stand firm in our beliefs with the scripture to back it up.

Blessings and Love.

Aina

From → Daily Bread

4 Comments
  1. Nohea permalink

    I was looking forward to your post regarding this chapter in Romans 1. The Bible clearly States that homosexuality is wrong. Paul uses strong language to compare and describe those in these kinds of improper relationships. Amen everybody! Jesus is His name.

    • Right on braddah, im excited you were excited! You know what I thought was interesting, in review I came across verse 29 this morning and the first part really stuck out to me. “Their lives became full of every kind of wickedness,…” It so true how allowing one sin into your life can open the door for many more. And of course the bigger and nastier that first one is that you let in, the uglier the rest of the sins will be. Amen BRotha!

  2. chad permalink

    I’m always blown away by God and what he’s created. He’s so incredibly huge and Majestic. Ps8:1

Leave a Reply

Pursuing my Own Path

To simplicity and beyond...by way of Italy

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

