Skip to content

Daily Bread : 1 Chronicles 25,26,27; 1 Thessalonians 4

May 15, 2012

If the notes are incomplete feel free, to add in anything you have. I will be following up as soon as I can. Lets Grow!

For newcomers this blog is dedicated to the reading below. Readings are updated daily at www.i-challengeyou.com, click on devotions page. Join us by doing the readings and engaging with us everyday, as we learn about God’s Word daily.

For those of you already following along, If you miss a day, don’t sweat it. But stay committed and watch God move in your life!

Notes from todays reading.

1 Chronicles 25:

Pretty ironic that I caught the tail end of a sermon today on the radio, and the Pastor was talking of areas in the Bible like this. Areas that are very difficult to read and really dont make much sense why they are there. But what this Pastor pointed out was that we are wrong to think these things. These words are the inspired words of God.

I see the problem as being due to our limited knowledge and wisdom we have no clue of the significance that these names have and the reasons they are listed in the Bible. Hopefully in time as our knowledge grows so will our understanding grow with these areas of the Bible.

1 Chronicles 26:

I have a friend that thinks the Bible is a bunch of fairy tales that were written so long ago that how can any of it still have meaning, or worth. Well when you read chapters like we are reading today. You have to really respect the amazing history/ record keeping that these men maintained. Whats amazing too, is how organized everything was. How they were able to coordinate all of these men, their duties and responsibilities. And then record it all for thousands of years…Amazing! My poor friend has no clue of the power of the Hand of God.

1 Chronicles 27:

This type of documentation is so amazing. They didnt have computers or servers to store all their information. Everything was hand written and im sure the pens and paper were a bit different then they are today.

The multiples of twelve for the troops and their divisions was pretty awesome. God is so BIG its mind-blowing!

1 Thessalonians 4:

This is a nugget packed chapter. But since I already touched on this in Chapter 3, I will continue.

Verses 13-18 are pretty awesome. Verse 13 speaks of hope, and hope is an amazing thing to have. Without hope in anything what is there to strive for? There is a verse that I have been meditating on for several days. It’s awesome because I didnt read about it recently, God has just placed this on my heart in preparation for something I feel. But its Philippians 4:7, and I have paraphrased it in my head as “God gives us peace that passes all understanding”. I have heard this many times before but never really understood it, until the last few days. And it really has come full circle in my life, especially as I reach out to different people each day.

The other day I was talking about how the end time events and prophecy’s are hard to really wrap my brain around. But as christians  if we have a hard time, how much more would unbelievers? Peace is something that cannot be bought or taught. Peace is something we feel. As we grow closer to Christ, and we learn more about His faithfulness, His mercy, His grace, His forgiveness, His power…I could on and on. But the more we learn the more peace begins to resonate through our soul and bones. Then we reach a point where we can honestly say we dont have to understand, because of the peace, hope and joy that we have in Jesus Christ.

In no way can I fathom what it will be like when Jesus returns with the church, in  no way do I understand how a trumpet sound will be heard throughout the earth, or that the dead will rise from their graves and be caught up in the clouds to meet Jesus in the air. That is far greater than any understanding that I am capable of (at least right now, with God all things are possible), but I do have a peace that passes all. I do have a hope and a joy for this event, and I do have a peace that this will be an amazing event even though I cant even picture it in my little brain.

Blessings and Love.

From → Daily Bread

4 Comments
  1. chad92009 permalink

    I agree totally, also got my mind renewed about the way I read these “tough to read” areas of Gods’ word by reading your blog. Thanks.

  2. Glad you got something my braddah!

    Updated the reading since you last read it. Might be a word for you today…

    Aina

  3. kilihune permalink

    Your Thessalonians piece was awesome Bro. Hope & Peace i like that!!
    In verse 11 it felt like a direct verse for me after our talk yesterday it says ” make it your goal to live a quite life,minding your own buisness and working with your hands,just as we instructed you before. and by the way after your talk God had Pono call me and we talked it was awesome man. Praise God.

    • Yeah I like that verse, I need to remember that one myself especially at work!

      Praise God on Pono, funny how God works!

      Aina

Leave a Reply

Pursuing my Own Path

To simplicity and beyond...by way of Italy

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

books, laughter, love, life and Jesus

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

