Skip to content

Pray the Psalms

March 14, 2013

photo-86-350x262

I have recently been led by the Spirit in Prayer to pray through verses that I feel are very powerful to me, and speak of God’s infinite ways. When I read my Bible I highlight verses in yellow that really stand out, and speak of God’s power, love etc. So the other morning as I was praying, I felt I was prompted by the Spirit to begin praying through the Psalms by reading these highlighted verses. Some of them I made them to fit myself, so instead of …”but we boast in the name of the Lord our God”, I would pray: “but I will boast in your name, O Lord my God”. I want to encourage all of you to try this, it has been so rewarding, comforting and powerful to pray the actual prayers and cries of the psalmist and also some of the Words of God Almighty.

Start by reading through the Psalms, a couple of Psalms a day. As you read verses that you really like, highlight them. Then when you come back and pray through it, you may enjoy a prayer such as this:

 

Heavenly Father,

I will praise you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all the marvelous things you have done. I will be filled with joy because of you. I will sing praises to your name, O Most High.

Lord you reign forever. Those who know your name trust in you, for you, O LORD, do not abandon those who search for you.

I trust in the LORD for protection.

I am determined not to sin in what I say. I have followed your commands. I am praying to you because I know you will answer, O god.

If I had not confessed the sin in my heart, Lord you would not have listened. But God you did listen! You paid attention to my prayer.

I will sing praises to you God, and to your name! I will sing loud praises to you who rides the clouds.

In Jesus Mighty Name Amen!!

May you be as blessed in this as I am. I know Im not inventing the wheel or anything.  But for those that have never tried something like this, it will truly bless you and reward you if you can tap into it.

Heres a link to another great post about praying with scripture, and actually adding names into them (like our kids). We are “praying in God’s language” when we do this. So cool!

From → Nibble of Bread

5 Comments
  1. I have been praying the psalms and other Scripture for years and I tell you, it really works. It shows you how to adore God more in prayer and also how to really look to him as counselor and “a very present help.” I was led a few years ago to do this, and I love it!

  2. Mike Sands permalink

    I like that. In Psalm 100, I’ve highlighted versus 4-5. If I turned it into a prayer it would say:

    Heavenly Father, I am thankful to You, and I bless Your Name. For You are good, Your mercy is everlasting, and Your truth endures to all generations. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen!!

Leave a Reply

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

Children's Ministry

Lessons Taught, Lessons Learned, Crafts, & More

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

Step Into ETERNITY

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law." Galatians 5:22-23

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

booklovers1

Living for Jesus through Christian fiction and in sharing His Word

Simply Life

Everyday living inspired by Christ.

END TIME HEADLINES

News and Headlines from a 'Prophetic Perspective"

iChristian

Be Transformed By The Renewing Of Your Mind - Romans 12:2

Calling Yisrael

Calling Yisrael from the Hinterlands of Babylon the Great - COME OUT OF HER: Israel in Prophecy & Resisting the New World Order

The Voice Of The Prophetic Report

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies, Devotions and Commentary

Elisha's Vision

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.

.....and a sprinkle of love

If only I had something witty to say.....

politicalconnection

Connecting the world to Truth, so that Justice can be served

S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Inspired by: GOD

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, Russia and the epicenter

esserealis:

Be Real!

Creation Science 4 Kids

creation science worded for all of us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

